Catching Up…

There was so much to choose from these past two weeks! It seemed like everything landed on the same night, but I think I chose well and was not disappointed.

content

The opening at Capricious was well attended. I have to admit that I barely looked at the work on the walls during the closing reception. I mostly hung out with friends in the back office space and drank a Shandy. Although it was a bit too nippy outside for a Shandy, it did make me feel at home to have one. My British father is a big fan of the drink during summer months and it always reminds me of him. We leafed through the pages of old issues of Capricious, which is one of my favorite contemporary photography magazines (along with Foam). I do have to say that I prefer the standard magazine format of previous issues of Capricious to the latest newsprint issue. I don’t like a magazine I can’t hold in my lap or take in a tote bag to read on the train. (i.e. the brick that has become ArtForum)

On Valentine’s Day I was absolutely delighted to attend the Housing Works Valentines Day Personal Media Mixer and Confessional Cultural Variety Show with my friend Amanda. The presentations by Davey Rothbart of Found Magazine and others were hilarious. D. Rothbart read some of Found Magazine’s best love related founds, the funniest of which started off with “I decided to write you a letter because I didn’t think email would be safe…” Little did this person know his letter would reach the ears of a crowd of New Yorkers. Other sad/funny teenage love letters and poems were read, and Cassette from My Ex did a nice slideshow presentation of j-cards from cassette tapes. It brought me back to all of the days and nights I spent in high school making mix tapes. Oh Maxell XL II ‘s* how I miss you and the love that went into listening to each song on the mix the whole way through. Unfortunately the event was really packed and Housing Works did not provide enough seating. So after standing for two hours in high heels, Amanda and I left.

I just wanted to add a note about Davey Rothbart. I first found out about him on This American Life and I thought his stories were funny. Then I saw Found Magazine, and to be honest, I don’t really like it. It makes finding things less special. The whole point is that you find something strange and it becomes meaningful to you. I don’t really enjoy looking at things other people have found. But, maybe I’m just jealous that I didn’t come up with the idea first. Then I bought his book: The Lone Surfer of Montana Kansas, which I found disappointing and poorly written. He comes off much better on the radio and in person at a reading. But, before it sounds like I’m bashing Davey Rothbart I want to tell you that you must go to Apex Art this month, where he has curated a great show of videos called Kick My Heart’s Ass: Short Films About Love. I went to the gallery while wandering around SoHo earlier on V-Day and found it by accident. No pun intended!

werrett2

I was also able to attend the last hour of Cabinet Magazine‘s launch party last Wednesday for issue 32: Fire. You should definately get a copy, because my friend Dan Woerner has a collage about Plaice in the issue. Go Dan! The opening was full of drunk people by the time I arrived. It spilled out onto the cobblestone driveway and then we all got kicked out.

bats1

Unfortunately I missed the event for A Public Space at The Kitchen and The Mardi Gras Desk Set Fundraiser at Daddy’s Bar last night. I was at Light Industry for an amazingly magical evening of films by Jennet Thomas and Jim Trainor. Jim Trainor has been a longtime love of mine, but Jennet Thomas’s work was completely new. Now I am obsessed and I can’t wait to see everything she has ever made. I hope The Desk Set Party was fun. If you went, let me know how it was.

*(oh and this!)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

